Minnesota Record
Saint Paul
SJ

Saura Jost

Council Member2024-01-01 – 2028-12-01 (month-level start: January 2024 per Legistar office record [body 138, City Council] [start 2024-01-01]; month-level end: December 2028 per Legistar office record [body 138, City Council] [end 2028-12-31])

No biography on file yet.

At a glance

News mentions
0

Term ending Dec 1, 2028.

Voice

Meetings spoken in
40
Total speaking time
2:07:17
Avg per meeting
3:11
Segments
1810

Want every word Jost has said?

The OpenCity MCP for Claude.ai answers questions like “what has Jost said about housing this year” with one prompt — full speaking history, with YouTube timestamps.

Filtered to Development

Top issues during term (20)(Development)

high↑May 2026[30]

Problem property enforcement (remove/repair orders)

Owner may bear rehabilitation or removal costs.

high↑Feb 2026[25]

State housing funding applications for Saint Paul projects

City dollars are being set aside to leverage state housing funding — the total amount wasn't specified in the record.

high↑May 2026[22]

Preserving affordable housing at Afton View Apartments

Not yet stated; project financing details were not disclosed at this introduction.

high↓Jul 2026[14]

Mayor's Encampment Plan

high↓Aug 2026[13]

Tenant Right to Repair ballot question

high↑May 2026[12]

Barndominium alternative housing

Financial feasibility of the model was a focus of the presentation, but no city cost was stated.

high↓Sep 2026[11]

Hamm Building conduit bond issuance

Conduit bonds are repaid by the project, not the city; no direct city repayment obligation.

high↑Apr 2026[11]

The Aragon Development affordable housing

Tax credit reservation — no direct city spending, but it unlocks funding for the project.

high↑Oct 2026[10]

2027 Low Income Housing Tax Credit Reservation

Tax credit reservations can leverage millions in affordable housing investment across the city.

medium↑Oct 2026[10]

HOME housing budget amendments

Adjusts the affordable housing budget by roughly $1.3 million in program income and $2.65 million in spending.

medium↑Nov 2026[10]

Sale of HRA-owned 515 Lafond to the Church of St. Agnes

Sale terms and proceeds are not stated in the published agenda.

high↓Jun 2026[8]

Galtier Plaza TIF District

TIF district financing diverts future property tax increments from the site toward redevelopment costs; the exact figures are in the adopted TIF plan.

high↓Apr 2026[8]

0 Jackson Street developer designation

The city would negotiate a development agreement and the project would pursue multiple funding rounds; no dollar commitment was made today.

medium↓Jun 2026[7]

Affordable housing and CDBG funding shifts

$254,961 for housing rehab, $785,598 for affordable housing gap subsidy, and $140,000 for demolitions.

medium↓Jul 2026[7]

Additional funding for 47 Douglas Street rehabilitation

The HRA's total investment will top $254,961 — about $30,000 more than originally approved — against a $594,000 project and a $235,000 sale price.

high↓Feb 2026[5]

Highland Bridge development continues

No direct city cost; continues buildout of the former Ford plant site.

medium↓Aug 2026[5]

Tenant Bill of Rights

high↓Sep 2026[5]

Conduit housing revenue bonds for Emma Norton/Restoring Waters and Nellie Francis Court

Conduit bond reissuance with no debt or liability to the city.

medium↓Sep 2026[5]

Transit-oriented development on city/HRA land

medium↓Sep 2026[5]

Village on Rivoli — property sale to Dayton's Bluff NHS

The city conveys property to the nonprofit housing developer; the sale price isn't stated in the minutes.

Decisions during term (21)

Recorded while Jost was in office — not necessarily decisions they moved, spoke to, or voted on.

approved6-0Oct 28, 2026

Commercial Development District at University & Snelling (Ord 26-49)

approved5-0Oct 21, 2026

RES 26-1678 Establishing the rate of pay for the classifications of Training and Development Specialist and Training and Development Coordinator in EG 06, PEA.

tabledVoted yes5-0Oct 14, 2026

Ord 26-49 Snelling & University Commercial Development District

approved7-0Oct 14, 2026

RES 26-1687 Authorizing the Department of Planning and Economic Development to Apply to the Ramsey County Critical Corridors Program to Test Recommendations from the Downtown Streets and Sidewalks Plan Along 5th Street.

approved7-0Oct 14, 2026

RES 26-1720 Reciting a proposal for a housing program for a Multifamily Rental Housing Project; approving the project and the program pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 462C; authorizing the Housing and Redevelopment Authority to…

approvedVoted yes6-0Oct 14, 2026

RES 26-1708 — Reservation of 2027 Low Income Housing Tax Credits for The Aragon Development

approved7-0Sep 9, 2026

RES 26-1445 Waiving the signature requirement for the creation of the University and Snelling Commercial Development District, which shall be divided into four (4) quadrants.

approved5-0Aug 19, 2026

Approving and Authorizing the Non-use of a Project Labor Agreement on a Single-family Housing Redevelopment Project at 47 Douglas Street.

approved5-0Aug 19, 2026

Approving and Authorizing the Non-use of a Project Labor Agreement on a Duplex Housing Development Project at 1087 Ross Avenue.

approved6-0Aug 5, 2026

RES 26-1180 Authorizing the acceptance of $1,250,000 in total grant funding from the 2026 Economic Development Initiative (EDI) Community Project Funding (CPF) federal earmark for the Fire Department's Burn Building Restoration and…

approved6-0Aug 5, 2026

RES 26-1200 Approving Ordinance Permit 20250030501 for Storm Sewer Infrastructure installed by Snelling-Midway Redevelopment, LLC at the following locations on the United Village Project Site as defined in the “Development Agreement By and…

approvedVoted yes7-0Jun 17, 2026

Ord 26-28 — Rezone 213 Bates Avenue (AuMer Development Group)

approved7-0Jun 17, 2026

Approving the application for Liquor On Sale, Liquor On Sale - Sunday, Liquor Outdoor Service Area (Sidewalk), Entertainment (B), and Gambling Location licenses (License ID #DSIBLLIQ-000621-2026) now held by Latino Economic Development…

approvedJun 3, 2026

RES 26-889 — Opt-in to the Ramsey County Economic Development Authority (EDA)

approvedVoted yes7-0Jun 3, 2026

Opt-in to Ramsey County Economic Development Authority

approved6-1May 27, 2026

Confirm Melanie McMahon as Director of Planning and Economic Development

approved7-0May 27, 2026

DEED Redevelopment Grant for Afton Park Development at 841-857 Grand Avenue

tabledVoted yes7-0May 27, 2026

RES 26-889 — Opt-In to and Support of the Ramsey County Economic Development Authority

tabledVoted no4-3May 13, 2026

Res. 26-791 — Mayor's appointment of Melanie McMahon as Director of Planning and Economic Development (Item 15)

approved6-0Apr 15, 2026

Authorizing the City to apply to the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) for contamination cleanup grant funding for the Balsam II project at 500 Broadway Street (District 4, Ward 2).

Voting record (17)(Development)

16 yes1 no

Oldest to newest — hover a bar for the item.

Voted yesOct 28, 2026

Ord 26-49 Amending the appendix to Chapter 409 of the Legislative Code pursuant to section 17.07.1 of the Charter and section 409.16 of the Legislative Code to create a Commercial Development District

Voted yesOct 21, 2026

Ord 26-49 — Commercial Development District at Snelling-University (liquor licenses)

Voted yesOct 14, 2026

Ord 26-49 Amending the appendix to Chapter 409 of the Legislative Code pursuant to section 17.07.1 of the Charter and section 409.16 of the Legislative Code to create a Commercial Development District

Voted yesOct 14, 2026

RES 26-1708 — Reservation of 2027 Low Income Housing Tax Credits for The Aragon Development

Voted yesOct 14, 2026

Ord 26-49 Snelling & University Commercial Development District

Voted yesOct 7, 2026

Ord 26-49 Snelling & University Commercial Development District (first reading)

Voted yesJun 17, 2026

Ord 26-28 — Rezone 213 Bates Avenue (AuMer Development Group)

Voted yesJun 3, 2026

Opt-in to Ramsey County Economic Development Authority

Voted yesMay 27, 2026

RES 26-889 — Opt-In to and Support of the Ramsey County Economic Development Authority

Voted noMay 13, 2026

Res. 26-791 — Mayor's appointment of Melanie McMahon as Director of Planning and Economic Development (Item 15)

The charter vests appointment power in the mayor; delay was not justified

Voted yesApr 1, 2026

RES 26-516 — Reuter Walton Development designated tentative developer of 0 Robert Street South (Fox Lot)

Voted yesMar 11, 2026

Resolution is Laid Over to the Housing & Redevelopment Authority, due back on 3/25/2026

Voted yesMar 11, 2026

Resolution is Laid Over to the Housing & Redevelopment Authority, due back on 3/25/2026

Voted yesMar 11, 2026

Resolution is Laid Over to the Housing & Redevelopment Authority, due back on 3/25/2026

Voted yesMar 4, 2026

Ord 26-11 — Port Authority bonds for St. Joseph's site redevelopment (final adoption)

Voted yesFeb 18, 2026

Amending the financing and spending plan in the Department of Parks and Recreation, in the amount of $2,500,000, to reflect funds awarded from the Department of Employment and Economic Development for

Voted yesFeb 18, 2026

Approving (i) the establishment of the Fairview/St. Joe’s Tax Increment Financing District (a redevelopment district) in the Downtown St. Paul Industrial Development District and adopting a Tax Increm